Hall of Famer's Image
Stephen Ames

April 28, 1964
Place of birth: Trinidad & Tabago
Category: Professional Golfer
Inducted: 2014


2009                Children’s Miracle Network Classic (PGA TOUR)
2007                Children’s Miracle Network Classic (PGA TOUR)
2006                Players Championship (PGA TOUR)
2004                (Cialis) Western Open (PGA TOUR)
1996                Benson and Hedges International Open (European Tour)
1994                Open V33 Grand Lyon (European Tour)
1991                Ben Hogan Pensacola Open (Web.com Tour)
1989                Trinidad and Tobago Open

                       Eisenhower Trophy     1986
                       World Cup                  2000, 2002, 2003, 2006

Other items of note:
  • Turned pro in 1987
Stephen Ames Foundation:
  • The Stephen Ames Foundation was founded in 2005; its mission to provide funding to junior golf programs in Canada and Trinidad & Tobago
  • Over the years, the Foundation's mandate has been expanded to include children's charities, hospitals, and hospital foundations in Calgary
  • The Foundation also provides funding support to the University of Calgary Golf Team
  • In 2013, the Stephen Ames Foundation funded the inaugural CJGA Stephen Ames Junior Classic Presented by RBC at the Country Club of the Hamptons in Calgary, AB

Stephen Ames Cup:
  • In partnership with the CJGA, the Foundation launched the Stephen Ames Cup in 2005, with the inaugural event taking place at Granite Golf Club in Stouffville, ON
  • This annual tournament is a unique partnership between the Canadian Junior Golf Association and Trinidad & Tobago Golf Association, which helps young people develop the skills and confidence, through golf, they will use into adulthood
  • The Stephen Ames Cup alternates host country each year between Canada and Trinidad & Tobago
  • The event is a Ryder Cup format, in which 8 to 10 junior golfers from Canada compete against a team from Trinidad & Tobago

2009 SCOREGolf Top Male Touring Professional
2007 Trinidad and Tobago First Citizens Sports Foundation Sportsman of the Year Award
2006 Trinidad and Tobago First Citizens Sports Foundation Sportsman of the Year Award
2006 SCOREGolf Top Male Touring Professional
2004 Chaconia Medal (Gold), Trinidad & Tobago's second highest honour

Previous - R. Keith Alexander

R. Keith Alexander / Stephen Ames / Allan Balding / James Barclay / David Barr / David L. Black / Kenneth Black / Gayle Borthwick / Jocelyne Bourassa / Gordon Brydson / Dorothy Campbell Hurd Howe / Donald Carrick / Dawn Coe-Jones / Graham Cooke / Geoffrey Cornish / Gary Cowan / George Cumming / Marion Doherty / Phil Farley / Pat Fletcher / Bruce Forbes / Brent Franklin / Richard Grimm / Daniel Albert Halldorson / Florence Harvey / Mary Ann Hayward / Wilf Homenuik / Jules Huot / Karl Keffer / Ben Kern / George Knudson / William Lamb / Stan Leonard / George Seymour Lyon / Ada Mackenzie / Henry Martell / Fritz Martin / Roderick Hugh McIsaac / Jack McLaughlin / Gail Moore / Alison Murdoch / Albert Murray / Charles Murray / James Nelford / Jack Nicklaus / Moe Norman / Marilyn Palmer O'Connor / Bob Panasik / Claude Pattemore / Sandra Post / Ralph Reville / Clinton Robinson / Stephen Ross / Doug Roxburgh / Lorne Rubenstein / Cathy Sherk / Douglas Howard Silverberg / C. Ross (Sandy) Somerville / Betty Stanhope-Cole / John B. Steel / Marlene Stewart Streit / Alexa Stirling Fraser / Violet Pooley Sweeny / Gordon B. Taylor / Stanley Thompson / Mabel Gordon Thomson / Margaret Todd / Murray Carlyle Tucker / Lisa (Young) Walters / Mike Weir / Nick Weslock / Gordon Witteveen / Robert Wylie / Richard Zokol